Expect Great Things

20140218-180938.jpg

Towards the end of 2013 I was given a wristband that states, “GOD IS BIG ENOUGH”. I thought to myself that is so appropriate for this year. God has shown himself faithful is so many things. During Thanksgiving we were blessed with a great dinner when we were at the point where we didn’t know if we were going to eat or not. Than again for Christmas we were blessed by many people with gifts of food and money. And those are just the crowning achievements to the provisions of that year. I have since been wearing that band to remind myself of God’s faithfulness.

While I shower in the mornings I listen to Gateway devotionals through my phone. The other morning I was listening to the devotional from Love Expressed by Dana Johnson called Great Expectations. The theme verse for it was Hebrews 11:4 “By faith Abel offered unto God a more excellent sacrifice than Cain, by which he obtained witness that he was righteous.” In it Dana describes how worshiping is more than just singing a song for God and leaving it at that. In this scripture it shows that Abel worshiped in faith, and what does the Bible describe faith as? Just a few verses earlier it says, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Abel came to God wanting something.

As I looked at my wristband I heard The Spirit say, “In 2013 I have been big enough. In 2014 I can be even bigger.” Immediately my spirit welled up with joy, so much so that I weeped out loud and said, “Yes Lord! Yes! I declare with you that 2014 will be a year of ‘bigger’.”

And even already He has started to show Himself as a father that not only wants to take care of his child’s needs, but he even wants to give him some of the things he wants.

Come to God expecting. He wants to bless.

Leave a comment